MINUTES OF AN ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE MOLINE HOUSING AUTHORITY

October 19, 2020

The annual meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the Moline Housing Authority was held at 5:30 PM via teleconferencing due to COVID-19.

Board members present were Chairperson David Parker, Jr., Vice-Chairperson Jay McCowan, Chuck Capan, Leslie Stange-Crotty, and Diane Fox. Staff members present were Executive Director John Afoun and Recording Secretary Maria Nino. Board Counsel was in attendance. Also, in attendance was Tammy Jones.

There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

1. Call to Order: Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Remarks by Chairperson Leslie Stange-Crotty: Chairperson Stange-Crotty said we have we have had a very good year considering all that has happened according to all the information that has been given to her. She said she would be very happy to stay on as the Chairperson of the Board.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the Annual Meeting of October 21st 2019: Minutes of the annual meeting of October 21st 2019 were reviewed. Motion was made, and seconded, to approve the minutes of the annual meeting of October 21st 2019. All voting members present voting "aye", none against; the Chairperson declared the motion carried unanimously.

Presentation of Annual Report by Executive Director: Mr. Afoun gave a summary of the annual report. He said that traditionally the annual report would be presented at the annual meeting, but this is the format ours has been in here since the auditor is just now coming and therefore we cannot receive our audited financials in the annual report. The actual annual report will be produced shortly upon receiving her audited financials. We have not had any citations from Federal or State government.

Mr. Afoun highlighted the capital fund projects that have been completed during the past fiscal year along with the cutting-edge technology that has been integrated into service delivery which has improved communication with residents and Housing Choice Voucher Program participants. He was very proud that for the very first time MHA was successful in securing a Family Self-Sufficiency grant.

Mr. Afoun spoke about the strategic plan and how it adopts the goals and principals to preserve existing affordable housing, net new affordable housing units, improve our housing stock, revitalize communities while enhancing livability, improve economic and social outcomes for residents while strengthening and growing strategic partnerships.

Mr. Afoun informed the commissioners that MHA continues to achieve "High Performer" status from HUD and went over program statistics and achievements. He said he had represented NAHRO internationally in Australia and was honored to do that.

3. Election of Officers: Chairperson Stange-Crotty opened the floor for nominations for Chairperson.

Commissioner McCowan nominated David Parker, Jr. for Chairperson. Commissioner Fox seconded the nomination. Chairperson Stange-Crotty called three times for nominations

from the floor, but no further nominations were made. Chairperson Stange-Crotty declared that the nominations were closed.

Commissioner David Parker, Jr. accepted the nomination and was declared Chairperson by acclamation.

Chairperson David Parker, Jr. opened the floor for nominations for Vice-Chairperson.

Chairperson Parker, Jr. nominated Jay McCowan for Vice-Chairperson. Commissioner Fox seconded the nomination. Chairperson Parker, Jr. called three times for nominations from the floor, but no further nominations were made. Chairperson Parker, Jr. declared that the nominations were closed.

Commissioner Jay McCowan accepted the nomination and was declared Vice-Chairperson by acclamation.

4. Any other business that may come before the Board including comments from the general public:

Chairperson Parker, Jr. thanked Commissioner Stange-Crotty for all the work she has done.

5. Adjournment:

There being no further business, a motion was made, and seconded, to adjourn the meeting. All voting members present voting "aye", none against; the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 5:47 P.M.

Leslie Stange-Crotty,	Chairperson